Need help analyzing REW measurement

TypicalLee

Need help analyzing REW measurement
« on: 17 Nov 2023, 07:12 pm »
I have an untreated room and would greatly appreciate any help analyzing the REW measurements I took in order to understand what I am dealing with and what I need to address.

REW was run on a Win10 laptop connected via hdmi to an Anthem AVR. I used a UMIK-1 mic and loaded the 90deg calibration file.
I took measurements for each speaker individually, including just the sub, and also L+R.
I followed the guidance as best I could from multiple YouTube videos.

The file is shared https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApEw9S8B9NoPkKtJaA8gm1pKfO7Cfg?e=XhV2tw.

jakepunk

Re: Need help analyzing REW measurement
« Reply #1 on: 29 Nov 2023, 12:06 pm »
I am not an expert by any means, but you definitely need bass trapping.  Your psychoacoustic graphs have a big bump at 30 Hz, and your spectrogram peaks at 900ms delay below that point.  A typical untreated room will need bass traps plus mid-range absorption at reflection points.  I would progress in that order, start small, and don't over-think it.  Jesco Lohan's Acoustics Insider YouTube channel has some great content, including a PDF bass trap guide.

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #2 on: 29 Nov 2023, 12:14 pm »
I would bê glad I had a bass bump in my room.

TypicalLee

« Reply #3 on: 29 Nov 2023, 12:36 pm »
I am not an expert by any means, but you definitely need bass trapping.  Your psychoacoustic graphs have a big bump at 30 Hz, and your spectrogram peaks at 900ms delay below that point.  A typical untreated room will need bass traps plus mid-range absorption at reflection points.  I would progress in that order, start small, and don't over-think it.  Jesco Lohan's Acoustics Insider YouTube channel has some great content, including a PDF bass trap guide.

Thanks a ton!