new passive preamp

sas

new passive preamp
« on: 3 May 2005, 07:46 am »
Hi CIAudio,

I'm really interested that you mention that a new passive preamp is in the making, featuring tape loop and a remote. I'm searching for a passive, and can only find the Creek OBH22 that has a remote and a reasonable price. The other option are either way too expensive or DIY kits (I'm not good with a soldering iron).
Would be good to hear what the new preamp would look like in terms of size (similar perhaps to your existing non-remote preamp?) and get a rough idea on target price and release date

thanks, sas

CIAudio

new passive preamp
« Reply #1 on: 3 May 2005, 03:29 pm »
The new preamp is still in the design stage and probably won't be out until the end of summer. Being that it will have 4 inputs, 2 pair of outputs, and a tape loop, it will require a larger chassis to accommodate all of the rear panel jacks etc. Our current plan is to make a chassis the width of two CIAudio monoblocks.

The audio circuit is pretty simple and the design has been completed. We are also designing our own RF remote control/receiver system, which will enable the user to control all functions by the remote (even tape monitor).
The preamp will also have front panel controls. Our target price is $695.

chadh

new passive preamp
« Reply #2 on: 4 May 2005, 02:56 am »
Dusty,

Do you envisage making a HT bypass option available?

Chad

CIAudio

new passive preamp
« Reply #3 on: 4 May 2005, 04:51 am »
You can use the "tape out" as a HT bypass. This will take the selected source and send it to the HT receiver/processor while bypassing the passive volume control.

Psychicanimal

new passive preamp
« Reply #4 on: 4 May 2005, 03:40 pm »
...and when Dusty runs out of audio products to design we will see an infomercial selling Channel Islands juicers.  Watch out Jack LaLane!!!! :rotflmao:

doug s.

• makin' music
new passive preamp
« Reply #5 on: 4 May 2005, 03:59 pm »
Quote from: Psychicanimal