Tortuga's Roll-Off graphs. Should I be discouraged?

suicidallabrat

As someone truly excited to experiment with removing any preamp/processing from my audio pipeline, I was discouraged to see the data plotted on the Roll-Off graphs posted at http://www.tortugaaudio.com/what-is-a-passive-preamplifier/; considering the length of the cable runs to my mains (35’). 
I don’t currently have a passive pre, but my source has digital volume control in its dac’s, so I was experimenting with a source direct set up (Oppo 105 --> Pas Labs XA200.5 mono’s).
Being that I am not an engineer, can anyone enlighten me with regards to whether I am likely to encounter roll-off in the audible range, considering the spec of my current system?

What I’m running:
Source peak output level: 2.1Vrms
Source output impedance: 100Ω
Balanced XLR Length: 35 ft.
Balanced XLR capacitance conductor to conductor: 39.372(pFm)  Note: Meter, not ft.
Balanced XLR capacitance Cond. to other conductor and shield : 85.306(pFm)
Power Amplifiers input impedance: 30,000 Ω

Any other pointers that might help guide me in weigh the benefit/deficit of losing the pre/pro?

On an aside, can anyone share the formula used to plot the graphs I referenced?

WireNut

Re: Tortuga's Roll-Off graphs. Should I be discouraged?
« Reply #1 on: 28 Sep 2013, 06:25 am »

:o.
For someone like myself who tries to keep cable length at 1 meter or less, 35 feet seems like an awful long run. Roll-off due to cable length would be my first concern and even more so if I were trying to drive that length with a passive. But that's just me.

« Last Edit: 28 Sep 2013, 08:08 am by WireNut »

tortugaranger

• Facilitator
  • Innovated passive & active preamp technology
    • Tortuga Audio
« Reply #2 on: 28 Sep 2013, 01:25 pm »