Filling the speakers stands

jostber

Filling the speakers stands
« on: 15 Feb 2012, 05:02 pm »
I have not gotten as far as filling the Sound Anchor speaker stands for my 2Ce SigII's yet. Does this has much effect on the sound or is it just a small upgrade?

jeffreybehr

• Volunteer
Re: Filling the speakers stands
« Reply #1 on: 16 Feb 2012, 10:15 pm »
jostber, I have no experience with V'steen 2s nor Sound Anchor stands.  I have had other hollow-tube speaker and equipment stands, and I filled those tubes with #8 lead shot.  (I had lots left from my former shotshell-reloading life.)  Here's my current much-improved Sanus equipment rack.

The white circles are plastic plugs filling the holes I drilled to be able to fill those particular hollow sections.

I know that all the filled tubes rung VERY little compared with the empty tubes, and I feel that filling them was worth the effort...but I don't know that. 
« Last Edit: 6 Mar 2012, 09:12 pm by jeffreybehr »

Maceo23

« Reply #2 on: 6 Mar 2012, 03:54 am »
Go out and get yourself some lead shot.  It indeed make a noticeable difference.  At least it did in my 2ce sigs.

Dan Driscoll

« Reply #3 on: 6 Mar 2012, 04:27 pm »
As an alternative to lead shot, washed sand, the type used for kids' sandboxes, is good and in some ways better. IMO it damps vibration just as well, there are no toxicity risks, you don't have to worry about disposing of the lead shot when you sell/move/dispose of the stand and I believe sand is also less expensive.

brogoff

« Reply #4 on: 15 Mar 2012, 04:54 am »
I have the Sound Anchor stands for my 2CEs. I want to fill them with sand but I only have three of the six required end caps. The ones I have are black plastic and don't fit well enough to keep sand from leaking out. Has anyone found a good substitute for missing end caps?

jostber

« Reply #5 on: 24 Apr 2012, 05:07 pm »