Media player recommendations Please

goodguys

Media player recommendations Please
« on: 27 Oct 2019, 07:44 am »
Hi And thanks for reading this thread.

I have been using a dune smart D1 streamer for a few years.
I use the hdmi out connected to a screen for the picture, and i use the stereo analogue outs for the audio.
Surprisingly the audio quality is very good.
I have a htpc with an asus stx II soundcard and the dune's analogue outs are not far behind in sound quality, especially considering the stxII is a top end card.
For the audio the dune ases an AKM4429et dac, i can see a ax117 ldo regulator near it and also a few other ics that i can't identify rt19018a, el-eb 62p, jz9 83-13.

If i wanted to upgrade the audio to surround sound and keep the good video quality, with the same arrangement ( hdmi for picture and analogue outs for audio ) which streamer would you recommend.
The zidoo x20 pro at £600 seems good but only has stereo analogues.
Is there anything you have used or heard anything about.

Thanks!

witchdoctor

Re: Media player recommendations Please
« Reply #1 on: 27 Oct 2019, 02:48 pm »
That's an interesting question. I was in a similar situation a few years ago and read a post from someone who ditched the PC approach and got a Sony Universal player. It was $300 so I tried it and have never looked back. It has two HDMI outs and you can run audio out from one and video out from the other (improves quality) or jus configure them as standard HDMI ports. It has both coax and optical spdif as well as RCA. It plays every disc under the sun and has a lot of streaming apps.

The latest version would be the Sony 1100ES universal player.

If you stick with the PC you might want to try feeding the HDMI to a surround receiver.

What is your speaker arrangement?

WGH

« Reply #2 on: 27 Oct 2019, 05:46 pm »