Dealer Is Recommending JL Fathom F110's With Maggie 3.7's-Your Thoughts?

95Dyna

Does anyone have experience using a pair of F110's with the 3.7's or 3.6's?

kevin360

• án sǫngr ek svelta
I have no personal experience with that specific sub, but I am familiar enough with JL Audio. Frankly, I think a pair of the 110s would kick serious butt and would make great companions for a pair of 3.7s (or 3.6s). I love my 3.7s, but I love them more with a little help from their friends. Of course, really good dipole subs are probably even better, but I like my boxy bass (mostly only reproducing some deep fundamentals anyway - and that they do quite well).

josh358

If the crossover is low/sharp enough, and your room is big enough, the sub will play below the first non-trivial mode, in which case if you listen at a fixed distance, a boxed sub is probably at least as good as a dipole, maybe better.

golfugh

• Dead Can Dance - Into the Labyrinth
I have dual F110's w/ KEF Reference 205/2's.....great subs

95Dyna

I have no personal experience with that specific sub, but I am familiar enough with JL Audio. Frankly, I think a pair of the 110s would kick serious butt and would make great companions for a pair of 3.7s (or 3.6s). I love my 3.7s, but I love them more with a little help from their friends. Of course, really good dipole subs are probably even better, but I like my boxy bass (mostly only reproducing some deep fundamentals anyway - and that they do quite well).