TIP50 transistor - substitute for obsolete 2SC3942 in Chime and ?

squizcat

If you are building a component that requires TIP50 transistors as substitutes for 2SC3942, you may need to insulate the transistor from the heatsink as the TIP50 has a metal back and the heatsinks on the Chime are grounded to the circuit board.

I'm still learning to read the schematics, and having followed the instructions with recommended substitutes, I was confounded that my Chime build was measuring ~130v at the 295v test point next to R438. 

I was beginning to wonder if I had become the owner of an expensive, high tech brick. Poty came to the rescue and methodically helped me go through the circuit, looking for clues. Thanks to his patience and skill, it's sorted!

Probably standard stuff, but I didn't know it and it sure baffled me.. Would have been nice to have been given a hint. The insulation kit would be a heck of a lot easier to fit before the parts were soldered into place.

Put the insulation kits in, also swapped the 3ohm resistor at R423 for a 2.7ohm which lifted the heater voltage from ~5.9v to ~6.15v (will need to tweak a bit more to get it to 6.3v), plugged it in and then wondered where the music was coming from :). Took a moment to realize it was the Chime 8)

I used some insulation similar to the following -

Thank you so much Poty!!!   :D

poty

Thanks for good words, it is always a pleasure to be able to help somebody!
I think there were two problems, but one of them disappeared without any intervention. The second problem was revealed only by photo! :)

marantzfan

Would insulators be needed on the cornet2 with this part?

Jerwardemy