Bryston now has a BIT

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 74384 times.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #280 on: 19 May 2016, 04:10 pm »
Bryston BIT

I recently replaced a “power regenerator” from a Colorado based manufacturer with the Bryston BIT.  I liked the feature set on the “regenerator”- web enabled, the ability to control zones, and a nice LED display.  I was disappointed when it failed after 5 years.

This failure ended up being a blessing in disguise.  I have been aware of the BIT product for years and took this opportunity to upgrade from the regenerator to an isolation transformer based conditioner.  My system is primarily Bryston- Model T’s, 14B, BDA-2, BDP-1.  The 14B already has the BIT technology built in, so I use the BIT for the digital side and pre-amp.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the improvement surprised me, actually floored me!  The most immediate improvement was the low end.  The bass is noticeably deeper and better controlled with the image being more stable.

The Bryston BIT is the real deal, unlike other conditioners on the market.

Rich Jackson


Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #281 on: 19 May 2016, 04:52 pm »
Sounds like a PS Audio product that failed since they are coincidently located in Colorado.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #282 on: 14 Jul 2016, 09:55 am »
HI Folks

Here is a review on the Torus unit but it is identical to our Bryston BIT units.

http://www.stereotimes.com/post/torus-avr-20-ac-conditioner/

james

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #283 on: 1 Sep 2016, 05:28 pm »
If one was to go with two BIT-15's (or 15AVR's) over a single BIT-20 (or 20AVR or 20AVR2) for powering 2 7B-SST2's, a single BIT-15 powering a single 7B-SST2, how much performance is given up over the single 20? Would it be noticeable?

I realize it's cheaper to go with a single 20 and overall it's the better choice in this situation given the discussions earlier in this thread but if logistics make that difficult because the 7's are so far apart how bad is the trade off in performance?

Thanks

geoffhay

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #284 on: 8 Sep 2016, 08:48 pm »
I thought the 7B3 s already had BIT technology, so why would you need them at all?...Thnx , Bryston fan....

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #285 on: 9 Sep 2016, 11:39 am »
Easy, surge protection.

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #286 on: 10 Sep 2016, 03:03 pm »
If one was to go with two BIT-15's (or 15AVR's) over a single BIT-20 (or 20AVR or 20AVR2) for powering 2 7B-SST2's, a single BIT-15 powering a single 7B-SST2, how much performance is given up over the single 20? Would it be noticeable?

I realize it's cheaper to go with a single 20 and overall it's the better choice in this situation given the discussions earlier in this thread but if logistics make that difficult because the 7's are so far apart how bad is the trade off in performance?

Thanks

Any thoughts on this James?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #287 on: 10 Sep 2016, 03:58 pm »
Any thoughts on this James?

Hi

The only issue I have run into with the single 15 amp BITS is because the isolation transformer is smaller in the BIT 15 relative to the single BIT 20 and  there is a potential for the smaller transformer to saturate when high current is required.  The 20 does not seem to have that issue even with two 7B's connected.  Given the logistics of the amplifiers placed wide apart then I think two 15 units should be fine with a single 15 on each amplifier.

james

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #288 on: 10 Sep 2016, 04:34 pm »
Thanks James

Something I just observed, the 7's are a larger comment dimension size vs the BIT15's. Are the transformers inside the 7's larger than those in the 15's or are they both basically the same and the 7's are just larger to accommodate a lot more innards as it were over and above what the 15's would have?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #289 on: 10 Sep 2016, 04:58 pm »
The transformers in the 7B are larger than the 15 amp BIT

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #290 on: 12 Sep 2016, 11:31 am »
Very interesting, thanks

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #291 on: 24 Oct 2016, 12:38 pm »
Are there still old style BIT faceplates available for purchase if one wanted to change colors on a BIT model before the new style was implemented?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #292 on: 24 Oct 2016, 12:44 pm »
Are there still old style BIT faceplates available for purchase if one wanted to change colors on a BIT model before the new style was implemented?

Hi Rod

No sorry... no older faceplates available.

james

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #293 on: 24 Oct 2016, 12:45 pm »
OK, thanks James

Intibre

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #294 on: 30 Oct 2016, 03:48 am »
Mr. Tanner, which of the new cubed amplifiers have the BIT technology built in?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #295 on: 30 Oct 2016, 10:37 am »
Mr. Tanner, which of the new cubed amplifiers have the BIT technology built in?

Hi

It is not all the BIT technology but the 7B, 14B and 28B have the same type of transformers as used in the BIT.

james

Intibre

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #296 on: 31 Oct 2016, 01:24 am »
Ok, thanks for your reply.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #297 on: 15 Nov 2016, 10:57 am »
Hi James... received the BIT-15 yesterday.  Thanks for such prompt delivery. 

Just installed it about an hour ago.  Very impressive improvement - especially in regard to picture quality.  But, sound quality also went up a few notches, as well. 

Not sure about break in ... it sounds so good right out of the box.  But, I'm sure there will be "some" further improvement with more time on the unit. 

Will get back to you in more detail in about a week or so.

First impressions: the BIT-15 is a significant upgrade for any dedicated audiophile or  videophile.  Does an excellent job in all respects.

Will provide more reaction to the unit as time goes on.

My guess is that I just bought about the best power conditioner on the market.

Sure performs that way.

Thanks again,

Brent

R. Daneel

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 907
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #298 on: 2 Apr 2018, 10:11 am »
Hi James!

I am reviving an old thread here but I was wondering if you could answer a few questions for me:

1. What is the smallest (lowest amperage rating) BIT model available for continental European market (Germany etc.)?
2. Is this model suitable for driving a BDP-2, BDA-2, BHA-1 and a 60 Wpc integrated amplifier?
3. Is this model available in all 3 series; IS, Standard, AVR; and what are their respective prices?
4. What are the available options for this model?

Thanks!
Antun

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18466
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston now has a BIT
« Reply #299 on: 2 Apr 2018, 11:29 am »
Hi James!

I am reviving an old thread here but I was wondering if you could answer a few questions for me:

1. What is the smallest (lowest amperage rating) BIT model available for continental European market (Germany etc.)?
2. Is this model suitable for driving a BDP-2, BDA-2, BHA-1 and a 60 Wpc integrated amplifier?
3. Is this model available in all 3 series; IS, Standard, AVR; and what are their respective prices?
4. What are the available options for this model?

Thanks!
Antun

Hi Antun

1. I believe it is the BIT 4 (amp)
2. I would say the BIT 8 would be the better option
3. Yes
4. The prices would be set by the distributor.

james