I'm turning into a musical equipmemt (not audio) junkie

drphoto

I started playing the guitar about 3 years ago. I already have 3 guitars and 2 amps. I just put a in a bid on eBay for a tube amp.....you can debate tubes vs SS for audio all day long, but tubes rule for guitars. My 2 SS amps (a Carvin and Roland suck.....well the Roland has a really nice clean sound, but can't do that slight distortion thing very well) The amp I bid on was an Epi Std. Reviews say it's pretty awesome for a cheap amp. I'd love to have a Fender Twin or a Vox AC30 but they're just too much money, given my limited skills.

I'm lusting after a real Strat (I have a cheap fake) and a Les Paul (could live w/ an Epi version) I'm liking my Carvin DC127 (2 hummers w/ coil tap much better after a proper fret dress and switching to '9's'......it's a long scale guitar so light gauge stings work well.

I suck, but this is about as much fun as I've ever had!  Just now getting into playing lead stuff and when I get an occasional passage to sound right..... It's so cool.

I want a nice digital piano too. Could use one of the old SS guitar amps on that.

nathanm

Re: I'm turning into a musical equipmemt (not audio) junkie
« Reply #1 on: 5 Sep 2007, 12:33 am »
Cool!  So when can we expect your video on YouTube shredding to "Canon Rock"? :P :lol:

Holding a guitar in your hands and being in command of a few hundred decibels is something of a spiritual experience.  You feel like a god having all that power at your fingertips.  At least that's my theory, I've only hit a few blaring chords followed immediately by cringing and praying that nobody calls the cops.  But it was a small piece of auditory heaven. 

Also, playing through a guitar amp immediately makes any Hi-Fi speaker look like a chump.  Thank goodness for the suspension of disbelief, otherwise we may never enjoy listening to recorded music.

Marbles

« Reply #2 on: 5 Sep 2007, 01:47 am »