XLS Encore woofers are not getting any power

Dans801

XLS Encore woofers are not getting any power
« on: 10 Jul 2022, 03:00 pm »
Hi all, first post here, but been following these threads for a while.  I'm somewhat new at hifi so please bear with me.  I just received my first XLS Encore kit and spent the day yesterday putting it all together.  The tweeters are getting sound lound and clear but the woofers are getting no sound, power or any sort of source at all.  They are just silent, nothing.  I'm 99% sure I have the crossover, and all the wiring done correctly but maybe someone can take a look for me.  I also used two different amps/receivers to test with and both had the same result.  Here's my crossover and woofer.  Don't mind the green shrink wrap, I just used it to indicate my negative woofer wire.  Any advice is much appreciated.

HAL

• Industry Contributor
Re: XLS Encore woofers are not getting any power
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jul 2022, 05:32 pm »
You can use an ohm meter to check the speaker terminal to the input terminal to make sure you have good connections for both the positive and negative terminals.  The measurements should be a very low DC resistance.

If you measure across the input terminals you should also measure close the the DC resistance of the speaker.

If either of those are not correct, then some connection to the woofer is not working correctly.

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #2 on: 10 Jul 2022, 06:06 pm »
Did you strip the red enamel from the coil leads?

The enamel on them will prevent proper contact and may be the cause of your lack of bass frequencies.

Usually a razor or scissor blade will easily remove the enamel then you can use solder to bridge the connection.

Dans801

« Reply #3 on: 10 Jul 2022, 06:37 pm »