Multi room music question on electronics

David C

• Don't try and lay no boogie woogie on the king
Multi room music question on electronics
« on: 18 Apr 2010, 01:19 pm »
I have just purchased a new home. It is five yrs old and has keypad controllers in six rooms. The previous owner took the Russound controller/amp so I am looking for a replacement. It is six zones. I have looked at the Niles, Russound and Speakercraft on line. A basic question. .... if I were to go with something other than another Russound would the cat5 wiring that runs to each zone still work on Russound keypads????? All of the ones I have seen allow for 4 to 6 inputs so that each room could have a different source. I dont really need that. One source to all would be my preference

Open to any and all suggestions as I have no experience in this multizone business. Stricly a 2 channel guy

thanks

K Shep

Re: Multi room music question on electronics
« Reply #1 on: 18 Apr 2010, 11:44 pm »
I have just purchased a new home. It is five yrs old and has keypad controllers in six rooms. The previous owner took the Russound controller/amp so I am looking for a replacement. It is six zones. I have looked at the Niles, Russound and Speakercraft on line. A basic question. .... if I were to go with something other than another Russound would the cat5 wiring that runs to each zone still work on Russound keypads????? All of the ones I have seen allow for 4 to 6 inputs so that each room could have a different source. I dont really need that. One source to all would be my preference

Open to any and all suggestions as I have no experience in this multizone business. Stricly a 2 channel guy

thanks