Subwoofer help!

kalio12

Subwoofer help!
« on: 5 Jun 2012, 02:36 pm »
Hello guys, I'm new to the website and all this stuff (you can tell by my post count  :D). So i recently bought a pair of jbl 4312a for my house (they have yet to arrive). I listen to alot of house music (alot of bass) and while these speakers produce clear and beautiful sound, they do not produce alot of bass. I'm asking for opinions- what kind of subwoofer should i buy? powered or passive? I'm looking in the sub-$350 range, but any suggestions are welcome. Again, sorry for the weird phrasing and all- I'm very new to this. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

BTW, the jbl's are powered by my marantz 2270 receiver.

fredgarvin

Re: Subwoofer help!
« Reply #1 on: 5 Jun 2012, 03:32 pm »
We have a Bass circle try it there:

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?board=198.0

Letitroll98

• Facilitator
  • Too loud is just right
« Reply #2 on: 6 Jun 2012, 04:57 am »
You might try the Parts Express subs.  The BIC F-12 at $219 has some great reviews on several sites, and the good 'ol Dayton Audio 1000 and 1200 subs are C&C favorites.  Another good resource for lower priced subs is the Infinity store on eBay, they have some pretty good deals on pretty good subs.  The lower priced Impact series from Velodyne is at $339 on Amazon and might be a good option as well.

Rclark

« Reply #3 on: 6 Jun 2012, 08:35 am »
You might also check out a website called Audiogon.com . It's like ebay for audio gear. You can find a lot of really awesome deals there on all sorts of gear, and it's a great place to buy or sell.

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #4 on: 6 Jun 2012, 11:27 am »
Watch out for "toy" subs (those marketed with desktop/computer speakers, or mass marketed - big box stores).  Most of those don't go deep and the quality of bass is poor (flabby, one note, and/or lack definition).