DIY Amp suggestions

rockdrummer

DIY Amp suggestions
« on: 19 Apr 2012, 06:22 pm »
I'm working on a pair of GR Research monitors and love the DIY process. 

I am looking for suggestions of full kit tube amps.  For my first go-round, I need it to be cheap.  Upwards of $300 could be possible.  I know that is limiting, but I'm thinking it's more of a practice.  Of course I'm hoping for decent quality watts, but I'm tempted to pull the trigger just for the fun of the build. 
I know of Bottlehead, but that's in the running for my eventual goal of a good amp.

In the last several months of hanging out on AC, I have seen many names of brands, and I have found a couple Chinese companies that sell parts, or kits but I am wondering about gear people have experience with.

Thanks for any and all info.

I also need to read up on the differences between 2a3, PP, 300b, etc.  I'm new to tube amps in home stereo.

Ben

Ericus Rex

Re: DIY Amp suggestions
« Reply #1 on: 19 Apr 2012, 10:31 pm »
Have you checked out tubelab?

http://www.tubelab.com/PCB_order.htm

He states the SSE amp could be made for as little as $300.  Check out Pez's build of this amp:

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=73713.0

corndog71

• Some people call me Rob.
« Reply #2 on: 20 Apr 2012, 12:17 am »
$300 is pretty limiting.  I would suggest saving up a couple hundred more and putting together a Dynakitparts ST35 or see if you can find a ST70 on ebay.

sts9fan

« Reply #3 on: 20 Apr 2012, 12:30 am »
If you aren't hung up op bottles you can make two very nice gainclones for $300.

jtwrace

• www.theintellectualpeoplepodcast.com
    • TIPP YouTube Channel
« Reply #4 on: 20 Apr 2012, 12:34 am »
If you aren't hung up op bottles you can make two very nice gainclones for $300.
Link?

jeffh

« Reply #5 on: 20 Apr 2012, 02:25 am »
Link?

Here are two popular kit vendors:

http://chipamp.com/

http://www.audiosector.com/

Also check out the Chip Amp section at diyAudio.com

Æ