biscuit spacing

Arctos

biscuit spacing
« on: 24 Jan 2003, 04:00 am »
Dave,
If you don't mind, could you tell me how far apart you space the biscuits when you construct your MDF enclosure panels?  Also, do you use biscuits to join the wood baffle to the MDF side panels?  Final question, when you glue do you go heavy with the application and wipe away the excess or do you apply in a more exacting manner?

I have some limited experience with carpentry, but am planning my first DIY speaker project, and have heard nothing but great news about your skills and products.

Thanks in advance for your help!

RDS

Al Garay

biscuit spacing
« Reply #1 on: 28 Jan 2003, 05:16 am »
You should contact Dave directly and ask him to send you the cabinet plans. It will show a picture with the biscuits. He puts a bunch of them. You could follow his count and space them evenly. As long as they all line up, I don't think it matters if you use 4 instead of 5 and exactly how far apart they should be. Use plenty of glue. It's easy to sand the residue once the sides are assembled.

Darren Thomas is building another set of 1801's for someone. He did an outstanding job on my and Ravi's cabinets. Perhaps, he'll shime in ...

Al

David Ellis

• http://www.ellisaudio.com
Arctos
« Reply #2 on: 29 Jan 2003, 10:49 pm »
This is a very fair question, and one that I should answer publicly.  I will offer some background before starting into the details.  I will over the the past, the present, my recommendation, and what I don't know.

When I started building cabinets I used a craftsman table saw and a 1/8" blade.  This saw was okay, but squirmed a little.  My joints weren't perfectly straight.  At this time I used 16 biscuits to fasten the top/bottom to the front/back/braces.  I generally used 32 biscuits on the side panels (16 per side).  I used 3 on top, 3 on the bottom, 5 on the front and 5 on the back.  I did this until....