Vortexbox software

mcgsxr

Vortexbox software
« on: 5 Dec 2010, 02:06 pm »
I came across this idea from Larry (lcrim) in another thread I started about a thin client pc for use with my SB3 to act as my server, but thought a new thread prudent.

Could we start a thread for folks considering installing Vortexbox software on a spare PC, and help Squeezebox users get it all up and running?

I hope so, cause I think I am going to do it, and I am a complete Linux noob, and think that some online help from my friends would be great!

I have a spare Dell small form factor pc in my basement, that for the past 3 years or so had been running my music collection, run wired ethernet to my Bolder SB3.

As I understand it, from the Vortexbox site, I will need to download their software, burn it onto a disc, and then shove it into the PC, and let it overwrite to be the OS for that PC.

My worries begin there - can I run that unit with my monitor and access the Squeezebox software there as I always have?  Can I easily add an external usb drive to that?  I will want to, as I have 800G of FLAC on one now.

etcarroll

• SE PA. by way of Boston, MA.
Re: Vortexbox software
« Reply #1 on: 5 Dec 2010, 02:16 pm »
I experimented with Vortexbox on an old IBM Aptiva I had in the basement, it was pretty straightforward. The 1 question I had was quickly answered on the Vbox forum.

As for your questions, the answer to all but last is 'yes'.

The answer to using a USB device may be yes, but I didn't try that so can't speak to it.

mcgsxr

« Reply #2 on: 5 Dec 2010, 02:20 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply - I have a habit (bad perhaps) of favoring this site as my main forum into the audio world, even when there are specific forums dedicated to other software etc.

It is my comfort with members here, and my desire to share experiences here, and learn from folks here I guess.

I know there are folks playing around with this s/w - why did you migrate away from it in the end?

Big Red Machine