Dannys new OB review

PDR

• May the best man win
Dannys new OB review
« on: 14 Apr 2009, 03:39 am »
OK, I think its been long enough that I can offer a review on Dannys new OB. I’m not very good at this sort of thing so I hope  your not too disappointed. I will try to give you the best description I can.

First thing I should do is let you know what kind of equipment I am using.  I wanted to experiment with tube gear but I didn’t want to jump in and spend a lot of money,  so I started with a dual monoblocks from
Grant Fidelity out of Calgary Canada,  they were discontinuing the A-88 and I could pick one up for
About $1000, if your curious look it up here http://grantfidelity.com/site/A-88+KT88+Tube+Amplifier
And yes I know it is a re-badged Yaqin.
For source I am using a Raysonic 128cd player, I use this in my current system and am very happy with it.
Xlo speaker cables and MIT interconnects.
As you can see a rather low cost set up.

I have over 60 hrs on the speakers now and have listened to almost every type of music except Rap and Country. I should also mention that the amp is new so I think it will need more time to come into its own
And the room that the Obs are in (for now) couldn’t be worse, cathedral ceilings, hard wood floors and absolutely no treatments.

I have built other DIY speaker kits and I know that you have to give them time for the drivers to wear in and that there is time needed for x-over parts, new electronics in servo sub amps, etc to burn in. This is why I thought 100hrs would be a good starting point, but I think I can give you a fair accounting after 60.

One other thing you should know is this is the first point source I have had in about 2 yrs,  my current speakers are line source or line arrays, all use ribbons, I have never owned an OB before.