My Piccolo

JakeJ

My Piccolo
« on: 15 Nov 2007, 02:25 pm »
Hi All-

Thought I'd post a link to my (finally) completed Piccolo. I have been using it for about three months and am very satisfied with it. I used Wima caps throughout the circuit and decided on an upgraded Hammond enclosure that allows the battery pack to be inside. Thanks a bunch Jim for keeping the DIY torch alive. :D A fun project that allows some latitude in the build and aesthetics. About $140 total investment and for that the sound is absolutely fantastic. Was using a step-up transformer and the Piccolo eliminated the hum that was driving me nuts. I am spinning vinyl almost exclusively now.

s219.photobucket.com/albums/cc200/hifi_hobby/?action=view&current=Piccolo_done.jpg

Big Jim

Re: My Piccolo
« Reply #1 on: 15 Nov 2007, 03:35 pm »
That's a nice case. I think I've seen it before. It's extruded aluminum with plastic end caps.

Great job.   8)

JakeJ

« Reply #2 on: 15 Nov 2007, 06:36 pm »
Thanks Big Jim,

Yes, extruded aluminum, available from Mouser. The end panels are also aluminum the black plastic wraps around and joins the main housing to the end panels. Essentially a trim piece. I think this is the one.

Had the lettering made as a sticker at a local sign shop. They made two for $35 (the minimum charge). If any one is interested I would be happy to sell it for $15 postage included.

JakeJ

vinylkid58

« Reply #3 on: 15 Nov 2007, 07:01 pm »
Thanks Big Jim,

Yes, extruded aluminum, available from Mouser. The end panels are also aluminum the black plastic wraps around and joins the main housing to the end panels. Essentially a trim piece. I think this is the one.

Had the lettering made as a sticker at a local sign shop. They made two for $35 (the minimum charge). If any one is interested I would be happy to sell it for $15 postage included.

JakeJ

Nice work, looks great in that case. Could you post the Hammond part # please, I'm going to be ordering the parts for mine soon.