Recommendations for Speaker for all tube system?

Cheers!

Recommendations for Speaker for all tube system?
« on: 7 Dec 2006, 03:16 am »
This will be my 1st venture into the realm of Hi-Fi so to speak. I find the quality/type of sound of tubes to be very appealing after listening to a couple (a Marantz 8B and a couple of Chinese tubed ones designed and manufactured in Hong Kong).

I'm thinking of picking up the Maple Tree Audio Stealth 60B as I enjoy Jazz a lot. Can someone point me into the right direction or give some model/manufacture suggestions for speakers under the 1000 USD mark?

I read the TNT-audio review on their sub 1000 dollar speakers and found it very interesting. From my limited experience I believe I prefer the front row, some what tighter bass note. I find I enjoy listening to music with the bass biased a little stronger.

From the review it seems the Dynaudio Audience 42 are a good match for what I want. However I'm very much a DIY guy. I work as a aerospace engineer, and have built countless boards/prototypes of electronics and cables so the thought of putting a speaker together doesn't really phase me nor does building a tube amp from just a schematic and parts list.

Any suggestions? What should I look for in a speaker meant for a tube amp system? How much a difference will a 1000 dollar speaker be compared to say a 2000 dollar one?

Thanks,
Jason

JoshK

Re: Recommendations for Speaker for all tube system?
« Reply #1 on: 7 Dec 2006, 03:25 am »
Sounds like you would like the Modula MTM's...check them out at www.htguide.com/forum  >> Mission DIY Possible >>  If you build them in a 50L floor stander (unlike my pair) you will get a bit deeper bass than I have.  They would be great for Jazz, even though I dislike jazz and I still love them.

Cheers!

« Reply #2 on: 7 Dec 2006, 03:35 am »
Josh are you referring to Jon Marsh Modula MTM thread over here:

http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthread.php4?t=11321