Wellcome a 'new guy' and about Timepiece vs Continuum

mixsit

Hello to the forum. I'm a long-time home studio operator and music lover about 'this close to jumping on a set of Continuums. (not 2.5's -too much $.)
My goal is one great true' set for mixing, plus enough extra headroom for all of the other duties (fun and work) that include clean and loud. Accuracy is primary #1. I'm shooting for as much of all of this as I can afford. (Naturally, who doesn't? :wink: )
First is easiest, what are the dimensions on the Continuum?
Second for anyone who has heard both, I have followed a very excellent review from a mastering engineer that indicates the Timepiece as an incredibly accurate and suitable speaker system for these applications and goals (highly neutral and high headroom being job #1), and that they may equal (or at a minimum, better' in the accuracy dept) many if not most of the 'Pro systems out there anywhere near this price range. (The B&W Nautilus' range is another example of a HiFi' system that has crossed over in some high-end studios and mastering.)
I'm just wondering if there are any notable sonic differences between it and the Continuum. I'm aware of the slight reduction in vertical dispersion and hence, likely some change in the room power response, and the slightly higher bass roll-off.
Thank you in advance.
Wayne Smith
CathouseSound
  :beer:

Aether Audio

• Industry Participant
    • http://www.aetheraudio.com
« Reply #1 on: 3 Dec 2005, 05:50 pm »
mixsit,

Welcome to our forum!  I dropped the ball on this one.  I was on the circle several times yesterday and never saw your posting.  Please accept my apology - I wasn't ignoring you.