BDP-3 Power Supply

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 531 times.

DarqueKnight

BDP-3 Power Supply
« on: 4 Dec 2017, 09:25 am »
@James Tanner,

The Bryston website says the BDP-3 has an:

"Improved power supply delivering over 5 amps"

Is the BDP-3's power supply improved over the BDP-2?


James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16514
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #1 on: 4 Dec 2017, 02:11 pm »
@James Tanner,

The Bryston website says the BDP-3 has an:

"Improved power supply delivering over 5 amps"

Is the BDP-3's power supply improved over the BDP-2?

I will ask Chris.

james


unincognito

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 1581
    • bryston.com
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #2 on: 4 Dec 2017, 04:04 pm »
I believe this is relative to the BDP-1, the power supply was left identical (specs) to the BDP-2 to allow older units to be upgraded.  The BDP-3's power supply was simply updated to use a standby supply more commonly used in newer Bryston products and to meet new safety standards introduced since the release of the BDP-2.

Chris

Tympani

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 124
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #3 on: 4 Dec 2017, 05:24 pm »
Speaking of power supplies, is it normal for the BDP2 to get very warm at the right rear top panel?

CanadianMaestro

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1074
  • Skepticism is the engine of true progress
    • Hearing Everything That Nothing Can Measure
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #4 on: 4 Dec 2017, 06:31 pm »
Speaking of power supplies, is it normal for the BDP2 to get very warm at the right rear top panel?

Yep.  :thumb:

CanadianMaestro

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1074
  • Skepticism is the engine of true progress
    • Hearing Everything That Nothing Can Measure
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #5 on: 7 Dec 2017, 12:47 pm »
I believe this is relative to the BDP-1, the power supply was left identical (specs) to the BDP-2 to allow older units to be upgraded.

Chris

Since BDP-1 is no longer produced, the blurb on Bryston's site should really read,

"Improved power supply delivering over 5 amps"

Loud and clear there, and not misleading.

Q: Why does a digital player with no analog output need 5 amps??

unincognito

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 1581
    • bryston.com
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #6 on: 7 Dec 2017, 06:06 pm »
Q: Why does a digital player with no analog output need 5 amps??

Mostly for getting the system up and running, when you initially turn on a computer every peripheral generally goes to max stated current usage for a few seconds.  If the power supply is to wimpy then you just end up in a loop of reboots.  Considering a typical desktop PC power supply pumps out 20amps on its 12v rail alone, a laptops power supply is probably somewhere between 4-6 amps, our 5amp supply is about where it should be for the hardware configuration/possible hardware configurations. 

Pundamilia

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 122
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #7 on: 7 Dec 2017, 09:57 pm »
Better to have a few amps in reserve to support external hard drives etc. than to have the unit gasping for power.

R. Daneel

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 680
Re: BDP-3 Power Supply
« Reply #8 on: 11 Dec 2017, 01:24 pm »
Yes, the toroid in BDP-1 delivered a single Ampere of current. BDP-2 delivered five times that and as a result uses two shunt-type regulators rather than one.

These regulators are coupled to the bottom panel of the device making this the hottest spot when it warms up.