ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 3478 times.

jpm

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 223
ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« on: 5 Jan 2017, 05:19 pm »
Vinnie - earlier last year you wisely espoused a "wait and see" stance re. MQA.  With the recent  availability of MQA streaming through Tidal and accompany integration with Roon, would you care to update us on your 2017 position re. MQA support?

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/mqa-now-on-tidal/17883

zybar

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #1 on: 5 Jan 2017, 07:29 pm »
Personally, there are many other things I would rather see Vinnie focus on in 2017.

Such as:  DAC upgrade, amp upgrade, upgraded streamer integration, as well as growing his relationship with Spatial Audio.

I wouldn't want to see a DAC upgrade take longer to come out or cost more due to MQA support.

Just my two cents...

George

yardbird4

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #2 on: 5 Jan 2017, 07:43 pm »
Vinnie - earlier last year you wisely espoused a "wait and see" stance re. MQA.  With the recent  availability of MQA streaming through Tidal and accompany integration with Roon, would you care to update us on your 2017 position re. MQA support?

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/mqa-now-on-tidal/17883

All who have heard and reviewed MQA uniformly say its a game changer in terms of audio quality.  If its made available for widespread streaming I would also like to see it be a part of any current upgrade to the LIO DAC.  The format will need support to survive and it looks like this one deserves support.

Vinnie R.

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #3 on: 5 Jan 2017, 08:00 pm »
All,

I'll be posting more about this in the near future.  I have a lot on my plate for the next few days that I need
to get done.

MQA will be an interesting discussion topic...

Vinnie

Stercom

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #4 on: 6 Jan 2017, 12:42 am »
I've been using a Mytek Brooklyn DAC lately and, yes, MQA is the real deal. Tidal made a major announcement concerning MQA today - they launched TidalMasters. Here is a link:

http://tidal.com/us/masters?utm_source=vero&utm_medium=email&utm_content=control&utm_campaign=MQA%20Active

jpm

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 223
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #5 on: 6 Jan 2017, 01:02 am »
Personally, there are many other things I would rather see Vinnie focus on in 2017.

Such as:  DAC upgrade, amp upgrade, upgraded streamer integration, as well as growing his relationship with Spatial Audio.

I wouldn't want to see a DAC upgrade take longer to come out or cost more due to MQA support.

Just my two cents...

George

I completely understand the enthusiasm for the Spatial relationship but it has to be considered very much a niche interest for most people.

Having said that, I'd understand if the level of Vinnie's effort invested developing MQA vs Spatial remains disproportionately against MQA's favor.

Peterjauhal

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #6 on: 6 Jan 2017, 07:36 am »
I read on the Computer Audiophile blog that the software decoding in the Tidal desktop app is the same as hardware decoding and so there is No need for VinNie to change anytHing

Peterjauhal

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 6

yardbird4

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #8 on: 6 Jan 2017, 03:26 pm »
I read on the Computer Audiophile blog that the software decoding in the Tidal desktop app is the same as hardware decoding and so there is No need for VinNie to change anytHing

I read the article and it definitely says that.  That is good news ... if completely true.  I streamed MQA a little this morning before leaving for work.  Sounds great.  Have not had a chance to compare it to my ripped wave files yet.

Vinnie R.

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #9 on: 6 Jan 2017, 03:48 pm »
All,

Here are some computeraudiophile.com discussions on MQA that you might want to check out:

Subject:  Big MQA News (Really - Tidal and Software Decoding, etc...)
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f8-general-forum/big-mqa-news-really-tidal-and-software-decoding-etc-31151/

Subject:  Tidal, MQA, and the future of our digital/musical ecosystems...
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f8-general-forum/tidal-mqa-and-future-our-digital-musical-ecosystems-31154/

Subject:  Roon & MQA - Software Decoding Is Coming!
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f11-software/roon-and-mqa-software-decoding-coming-31155/

Subject:  MQA is Vaporware
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f8-general-forum/mqa-vaporware-31115/

I am not saying that I agree or disagree with everything posted in these threads, but it is interesting discussion
if you are interested in the latest developments of MQA.  Different perspectives....

Vinnie


Vinnie R.

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #10 on: 7 Jan 2017, 04:05 am »
I forgot to mention this one:

Subject:  CES 2017 - Nice Surprises
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/content/739-ces-2017-nice-surprises/

Quote from: The Computer Audiophile
When MQA launched, we were told publicly that MQA would only be decoded in hardware (unless played on a mobile device). This meant that people would be required to purchase new MQA enabled DACs to get the full benefit of the technology. The announcement of software decoding means that people only need an app that decodes MQA rather than hardware.

I asked a very high end DAC manufacturer what it saw as the differences between hardware decoding in its DACs and software decoding in an app like Roon (before outputting to its DACs). The answer was a refreshing, "there should be no difference."


And this one:

Subject:  Is MQA a Friend of the Devil? A sonic evaluation...
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f8-general-forum/mqa-friend-devil-sonic-evaluation-31182/


More soon...

Vinnie


SlushPuppy

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #11 on: 7 Jan 2017, 04:21 am »
I forgot to mention this one:

Subject:  CES 2017 - Nice Surprises
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/content/739-ces-2017-nice-surprises/

More soon...

Vinnie

And then there is the confusing post by Steven Stone that suggests if you have an MQA capable DAC the resolution is even better  :scratch:

"Anti up the $20 a month and you're ready to rock with 96/24 streams. Add an MQA compatible DAC and you can get 192/24"

Link

Vinnie R.

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #12 on: 8 Jan 2017, 09:34 pm »
Another very interesting MQA post that is worth reading:

Subject:  MQA spectrum plots
http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f8-general-forum/mqa-spectrum-plots-31199/


yardbird4

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #13 on: 9 Jan 2017, 04:28 am »
And then there is the confusing post by Steven Stone that suggests if you have an MQA capable DAC the resolution is even better  :scratch:

"Anti up the $20 a month and you're ready to rock with 96/24 streams. Add an MQA compatible DAC and you can get 192/24"

Link

This one is strange because I don't believe that MQA conversion shows up as a wave or flac file resolution standard such as 24/96.  At least not on my Julia Audio Sound Card Driver Panel, which continues to show 16/44.  If someone is getting something else from purely software conversion ... let me know what I am doing wrong. I have not been able to find anything in Tidal on resolution other than the Album shows "MASTER" when playing.

Vinnie R.

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #14 on: 9 Jan 2017, 05:26 pm »
All,

I certainly have some points to discuss about MQA and will be posting then soon, but I have still have some questions that I have sent
to MQA directly because I want to get answers directly from them (instead of posting information from other sources which may
or may not be entirely accurate).

Their auto-response says I should hear back within a few days, and I look forward to discussing MQA in more detail with you all. 

Vinnie

matthewpartrick

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 209
  • thecluelessaudiophile.com
    • The Clueless Audiophile
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #15 on: 9 Jan 2017, 09:45 pm »
I love this subject! It combines some of my favorite things; new software, great sound, rumors of a little voodoo, and my LIO! :)

jtwrace

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #16 on: 10 Jan 2017, 12:50 am »
I love this subject! It combines some of my favorite things; new software, great sound, rumors of a little voodoo, and my LIO! :)
Easy there tiger!   :P


If you want new software get ready for Roon 1.3.... :green:

matthewpartrick

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 209
  • thecluelessaudiophile.com
    • The Clueless Audiophile
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #17 on: 10 Jan 2017, 01:35 am »
Easy there tiger!   :P


If you want new software get ready for Roon 1.3.... :green:

I'm already prepped for download.  Will be writing a new piece on my blog about this when it comes out.  Until then, here's a piece I wrote about (at least in part) my LIO tube rolling experience for Steven Stone on AudiophileReview.com:

http://audiophilereview.com/tubes/a-guitarists-aural-recall-and-tube-rolling-part-one.html

matthewpartrick

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 209
  • thecluelessaudiophile.com
    • The Clueless Audiophile
Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #18 on: 10 Jan 2017, 01:40 am »
BTW--none of my Tidal apps are giving me the option to see master files, anyone having any luck with this?

jtwrace

Re: ROON + TIDAL + MQA -> LIO?
« Reply #19 on: 10 Jan 2017, 01:51 am »
BTW--none of my Tidal apps are giving me the option to see master files, anyone having any luck with this?
You need to use the desktop app and it's there.