GT AUDIO WORKS GTA 2 SPEAKERS

Scotlynn

GT AUDIO WORKS GTA 2 SPEAKERS
« on: 7 Feb 2013, 03:22 am »
About 3 weeks ago I took delivery on a new pair of speakers, a set of ribbon planar hybrids from a great guy named Greg Takesh who builds his speakers under the moniker GT Audio Works. (Website at http://www.gtaudioworks.com/Products.html) A couple of disclaimers before the actual review: First, I’m not a professional reviewer (as you’ll soon be able to discern for yourself) and will never be wealthy enough to be a real, certified “audiophile.” I’m just an end-user guy who loves all kinds of music and tries to get many, many hours of listening in every week from my 10,000+ CD’s and a couple of thousand LPs collection. My listening tastes run from classic 70’s rock (Yes, Bowie, Hendrix) to classical (20th Century British being my favorite) to modern ambient and chamber (Rachels comes to mind), jazz vocals, singer-songwriter, soul/R&B, along with a healthy dose of postrock and, increasingly, a bunch of electroacoustic material coming out of Europe and Iceland these days (Max Richter, Olafur Arnalds, Johann Johansson, etc.)

Second, I have no affiliation with Greg or his speakers other than having gone to Greg’s home this past summer to demo a pair and then purchasing them a few months later. I do strongly support start up audio because I think that much of the industry is simply out of control. For me (and my budget) there’s nothing better than finding good people who are in their garages, basements and workrooms putting out great equipment at reasonable prices.  Greg is just such a guy and anything I can do to help spread the word is not for my benefit, but for the benefit of people out there like me who love audio, but have to watch their dollars.