Acoustic Room Treatment

Xi-Trum

Acoustic Room Treatment
« on: 3 Feb 2003, 07:07 pm »
Ok, going off Dan Banquer's comment regarding the total lack of acoustic treatments in many systems, I know I have been guilty of this.    :wink:   So, it's time for me to start looking at room treatment seriously.  I'll need a lot of help in this area.  So, I'll throw out some questions (that may sound obvious to many of you out there)... like... um... how do I get started?   :D  I mean, what do I use to "treat" the walls with?  Is there some DIY stuff that I can toss together that'll work effectively?

Since I'm a newbie in this, any bit of help/information is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Marbles

Acoustic Room Treatment
« Reply #1 on: 3 Feb 2003, 07:17 pm »
Xi-Trum,

Run, don't walk to your email and contact Danny at GR Research.

He is practically giving his stuff away.

Don't know if he has any left, but he is the first person you should contact.

http://www.gr-research.com/foam.htm

Marbles

Acoustic Room Treatment
« Reply #2 on: 3 Feb 2003, 07:29 pm »
After that, go down to the salvation army and get a valour sofa in whorehose red  :rotflmao:  :thumb:

Dan Banquer

Acoustic room Treatment
« Reply #3 on: 3 Feb 2003, 07:34 pm »
If your here in the states try www.partsexpress.com  The last I knew they had 24" by 36" foam pnels at about $5.00 each. If you need a part number contact me and I will post it. Other sources can be found in the audioperfectionist journal #2 found at www.audioperfectionist.com It's a free download from them.
Cover the entire back wall if you can and come up on the side walls about 3 to 4 feet.  Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. BTW this stuff really does work.

hairofthedawg

Acoustic Room Treatment
« Reply #4 on: 3 Feb 2003, 07:51 pm »
Here's a link to the page I found on their site.  Now to come up with a good way to install it without ruining the walls...renting sucks sometimes.