WMTMW Open Baffle project - so far so good

brad944911

WMTMW Open Baffle project - so far so good
« on: 2 Jun 2016, 07:48 pm »
Guys,
  I am working on a new project and need some hard facts here; what the heck is the right way to implement the spacing of the mids and tweet in an MTM(D'Appolito) speaker?  For the life of me I cannot seem to find the no kidding answer.  I've gotten so many points of view that sound good on either side, but what's the truth?  I understand the <1 wavelength(someone even suggested <1/4) @ crossover freq spacing part, but between what?  Between the two mids center to center or between the mid and tweeter CTC?  My brain says between mids CTC, but I'm self taught and may just be completely off!  The spacing I've planned is 20.75in between 10's and 6.5in between 4's.  So in theory even the 1900Hz crossover to tweets will be OK even if it's mids CTC, but I'd like to take tweets x-over freq up a little higher if possible.
  Just for info, the speakers I'm using are: Woofs - MCM 55-2891's (from the original Hestia...sorry Ed) / Mids - Dayton RS100-8's / Tweets - Vifa XT-19TD00-4.
  The ranges I'm planning on using are (W)90 - 400 Hz (M)400 - 1900 Hz and (T) 1900 - 20K.  All crossovers are active and 4th order LR (built into the amps) and can be moved around a bit if necessary to get this right.
Thanks in advance,
Brad
« Last Edit: 14 Jun 2016, 03:32 pm by brad944911 »

JohnH12

• John H
Re: WMTMW Open Baffle project - spacing questions
« Reply #1 on: 4 Jun 2016, 01:59 am »
Brad for a conventional closed back speaker the preferred spacing is less than or equal to the wavelength of the crossover frequency between the centers of the tweeter and mid. At 1,900 that’s distance of 18 cm between the tweeter and mids (343m/s divided by 1,900 cycles/s).