"stand alone a 370peq"

kyrill

"stand alone a 370peq"
« on: 15 Jul 2008, 10:44 am »
a very basic maybe too simple question?
I am waiting for my ordered servo woofers (4) and 2 "PEQ" amps for my OB adventure

but as I have no experience with plate amps for OB  before ( "always"saw them build in the enclosure of the woofers)
i wonder how do you place them? Do they have an enclosure of their own like "normal"amps or are they designed to be build in the speaker cabinet? As OB does not have a cabinet, do you have to build a separate enclosure ( i do not find those amps to be pretty looking like a Dodd amp for instance ;) )for the amps and put them as close as possible to the OB speaker?

Danny Richie

Re: "stand alone a 370peq"
« Reply #1 on: 16 Jul 2008, 12:00 am »
As OB does not have a cabinet, do you have to build a separate enclosure ( i do not find those amps to be pretty looking like a Dodd amp for instance  )for the amps and put them as close as possible to the OB speaker?

In short, yes, to the question above.

Optichammer

« Reply #2 on: 18 Jul 2008, 09:04 pm »
Are you wanting to put them "in the rack" with the other components? How about building just a 3U box with a cutout for both and some binding posts, or, my new favorite: Speakon connectors. You can also get a rack component tray or rollout from PE...

Eric

gooberdude

« Reply #3 on: 18 Jul 2008, 10:12 pm »
Building a little box for the PEQ370 plate amp is very easy.  I just made one last weekend out of 3/4" Birch plywood.

5 pieces of wood (4 sides and 1 bottom piece) plus a few wood screws, took less than an hour.

I won't be finishing the wood on mine though.  At some point I'll send the PEQ370 off to a reputable audio firm who will make a custom wooden surround for it (stained and beautiful) and also install a permanent speaker binding post.