hooked on ob sound... what to build first?

wendelltate

hooked on ob sound... what to build first?
« on: 8 Mar 2015, 02:10 pm »
I have been bitten by the open baffle bug. A friend of mine purchased some Spatial Hologram M1 a couple of weeks ago. I can't believe the sound from these speakers. I used to work at a hi-end store in town and have heard many very expensive highly reviewed speakers. None of them come close to these. One day last week I even took my Fisher 400 cx-2 and paired it with these. It was a slice of heaven. The sound stage, the bass, the richness and detail are incredible.

I am interested in trying something of my own. I have built econowaves so I have some experience in building. I want as much as I can get of the M1 sound but I do understand that these are $4k speakers. I have read about the Hestia, the gainphile, and the Manzanita builds. I would like to keep the size close to that. I am also on a fairly limited budget.
Which design is going to get me some/most odd that M1 sound in my smallish listening space.
Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: 8 Mar 2015, 06:59 pm by wendelltate »

ebag4

Re: hooked on ob sound... what to build first?
« Reply #1 on: 8 Mar 2015, 03:22 pm »
Welcome to AC!
I have built a few different OB speakers (4 pair+ a number of test rigs) over the last 10 years or so, My current speakers are my favorite by a decent margin.  My room is also small (10.5'x12.5'x8') but it is dedicated so I am able to make it work.  My current OB speakers are the GR Research Wedgies with 2x12" servo subs in "H" alignment per channel.  The soundstage and presence of these speakers have really done it for me to the point I am essentially looking at other areas to make improvements and no longer feel I need to look to upgrade my speakers.  Check out the "Something that sounds incredible" thread on the GR Research circle here at AC: http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=126112.0

Best of luck!
Ed

rabbit

« Reply #2 on: 8 Mar 2015, 03:28 pm »