Open baffle with Eminence Beta 15A

JMH

Open baffle with Eminence Beta 15A
« on: 24 Nov 2017, 04:01 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to this forum and kind of new to speaker building. I tried to get some help on diyaudio with my project, but there was no interest. Hopefully you guys can help me a little  :D

I'm planning to build some open baffle speakers with one Eminence Beta 15A per side. Eminence Beta 12cx coax for mids and PRV D290Py-S compression driver for highs, crossed at 800-900Hz. I love the look of the Spatial Audio M3 and M4 speakers, so the goal is to build something similar. I'm going active because I would like to have some flexibility in design and driver selection, and because I have very little experience with passive crossovers.

I would like to have the bass extend to 30Hz or very close to that, and from my understanding this can be difficult. Another goal is to keep baffle width 45cm or under. I really like the simple flat baffle, but could also consider a U-frame. Is this possible with one Beta 15 per side? I will have the option to eq, but will it require more excursion than Beta 15's 4mm xmax? Or will I run out of power before that with my 90 watts per channel in 8 ohms for the woofers?

And another thing. I may sound really stupid now, but I also really like symmetry... The coax I want to use is 12" while the woofer is 15". What would happen if I rear mounted both drivers in 11" holes? Kind of like emerald physics 15" woofers with 6" holes in front. This is just a crazy idea, I have no idea how to model the response of this and I'm thinking it probably won't work, but it would be nice.

richidoo

Re: Open baffle with Eminence Beta 15A
« Reply #1 on: 24 Nov 2017, 06:28 pm »
Welcome to AudioCircle, JHM!

Sounds like a cool project. We'll need lots of pictures, of course...   :thumb: