2 channel system suggestions needed

fwguo

2 channel system suggestions needed
« on: 12 Oct 2010, 09:29 pm »
I'm planning to build a 2-channel music system, my budget is very flexible. The followings are my requirements:

• near audiophile quality
  • simple
  • cost effective

In words, a cheapest near audiophile quality simple system.
My thought is: though this is my first system, I hope it will also be my last one, since I don't think I have much time for it. After reading forums for a few weeks, I see that I need four types of equipments:

• CD player: thinking about Emotiva ERC-1 for $400
  • preamp: perhaps also Emotiva USP-1
  • amp: perhaps Emotiva UPA-2 $300
  • speakers: sierra-1, salk songTower, HT3, B&W CM9; a subwoofer if needed

I'm earnestly seeking your advices. I'm a pure newbie. I like classic, vocal, pop music; like detail, warm.  I haven't decided which room to put them. There are 3 choices:

• Family room: 20'x17', perhaps also use them for TV (58" Panasonic plasma) if it is easy to do so and wife permits
  • Office: 11'x11', wife agrees on this.
  • Basement: to be built, what is the ideal size for a dedicated music room?

I auditioned B&W CM9, MartinLogan, and Def Tech BP8040 at BestBuy; liked the B&W very much.

So my question is: Can you build a simple cheap near audiophile system for me, new or used?

Thank you very much.

Big Red Machine

Re: 2 channel system suggestions needed
« Reply #1 on: 12 Oct 2010, 09:41 pm »
PM me your phone number and I'll unload some ideas on you.

roscoeiii

« Reply #2 on: 12 Oct 2010, 09:48 pm »