to RM40 owners willing to part with one 10" bottom woofer or even 2

Bob Stark

I have a pair of Brian's finest RM40's that I got directly from the reviewer using them as his reference speaker.  I'd really like to obtain at least one of the bottom woofers that is used as the subwoofer on an RM40.  I have a pair of the neopanels that I might be willing to trade one for a woofer/woofers in good condition.  I'd like to have a backup for each of the woofers--one top and one bottom.  Anyone with an RM40 that is willing to part with the woofers, please contact me.  I LOVE the VMPS sound and mine are very fine--would like to be able to keep them that way.  One of my bottom woofers may be showing signs of distress--not sure yet.

Thanks,
Bob

7x57

Almost any woofer can be repaired if you are willing to pay the price. If you treat your woofers right, you should never need more than a surround replaced or maybe a spider. I have been playing speakers loud for over 40 years and have never burned out a woofer voice coil. I have suffered a blown midrange and a blown tweeter as far as burned out voice coils, and I have had several paper cones fail me. Rubbing voice coils can be repaired. What cannot be repaired or replaced in a VMPS speaker would be the midrange drivers if you fried them.

People have bought Klipschorns or large Tannoy speakers and kept them going for multiple decades with almost daily use. You can do the same with VMPS. BG panels should replace the VMPS panels if they ever go bad. I rebuilt my RM1 woofers myself, including fixing voice coil rubbing and the phase plugs that dropped off. I could have just bought new Dayton Audio woofers and considered it an upgrade, but I decided $50 and some elbow grease instead of $250 for an instant fix.