Would a long narrow room be a mistake

sresener

Would a long narrow room be a mistake
« on: 27 Mar 2018, 04:16 am »
Hi everyone, I am about to renovate my basement.
What I will end up with is a long fairly narrow room. 13 x 38 with 8ft ceilings , I plan to have a projector screen on the 13ft wide wall and my couch about 14ft from the wall. This will leave a large area behind the couch for other entertaining, Bar, foosball and whatever else I can sneak downstairs.
I am running kef q900's atm but plan to upgrade to the kef r900's these will be powered with a quality dedicated amp. (still working on which one)

Also I am a contractor and could build a wall or whatever is needed but I would prefer the open concept behind the couch.

Mag

Re: Would a long narrow room be a mistake
« Reply #1 on: 27 Mar 2018, 06:20 am »
Hi, depends on how you use the room.

I initially used the short wall in my 25'x 11'x 8' room. I also shortened the room as you say, overtime however I got frustrated by the narrow soundstage. I have since moved speakers to the long wall for a very wide soundstage with 4 channel stereo. Was using 5.1 speaker arrangement until about 5 years ago I purchased Bryston Model T's which gave me the stereo imaging that I was seeking, with Paradigm Studio 100 v2 placed in the corners for extra width and sound reinforcement.

I am fortunate that my room acoustics are great, I just use dispersion panels along bottom of wall around the room, and I can crack the spl to concert level without bothering anyone.:smoke:

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
« Reply #2 on: 27 Mar 2018, 06:21 am »
Hi. I’m not familiar with your speakers, but the house I’ve just vacated (selling it) has a formal living/dining room that measures approximately 13’x29’x9’. Placing various different speakers 4’ to 6’ from the short wall yielded excellent sound characteristics. The only pair of speakers that did not sound good in that room were Harbeth 30.1s.