Spark for home theater use?

AvsFan

Spark for home theater use?
« on: 31 Jan 2018, 08:16 pm »
Building my dedicated theater room. 7.2.2 Atmos system. Small space and area. Wanting to mix theater and 2 channel audio together. 2 channel music is VERY important to me though. I just haven't been happy since I sold my Decware SE84UFO. But 2 watts was a little too low of wattage. So I am thinking 20 watts should be okay but just want to make sure. And I would want 2 Sparks 1 for the left and right and 1 for the center. My speakers will most likely be ZU Audio DW's, which are 97db efficient. Also, what would I do with the extra input left from the center? Just use it for a surround or can I just leave it unused? 

Audiovista

Re: Spark for home theater use?
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jan 2018, 11:47 pm »
Very interesting. I had to check the 7.2.2 configuration (I’m not an expert on HT, the last one I had was 5.1 :lol:). The Spark will definitely drive Zu’s very well. Since the second Spark will drive center channel, one input will remain unused. It is ok to run it that way, or you can use it to run one of the other channels - not sure if you are planning to take advantage of all 7+2+2 channels. Center channels are not power hungry, so the Spark will be “underutilized”, but it’s quality in the presence region will help with the movie dialogue clarity.

AvsFan

« Reply #2 on: 1 Feb 2018, 07:56 pm »
Very interesting. I had to check the 7.2.2 configuration (I’m not an expert on HT, the last one I had was 5.1 :lol:). The Spark will definitely drive Zu’s very well. Since the second Spark will drive center channel, one input will remain unused. It is ok to run it that way, or you can use it to run one of the other channels - not sure if you are planning to take advantage of all 7+2+2 channels. Center channels are not power hungry, so the Spark will be “underutilized”, but it’s quality in the presence region will help with the movie dialogue clarity.

5.1 Was so 90's. LOL  :D