RMD in Bees Wing Claro Walnut

EProvenzano

RMD in Bees Wing Claro Walnut
« on: 29 Dec 2007, 08:58 pm »
Hi folks.  The subject title is somewhat ambitious and a tease.

I have begun the slow and tedious task of applying veneer to my RMD's.  This is my first project using raw veneer and since I'm learning as I go, I chose to begin with the cross-over boxes.

Paul completed the box construction and provided them to me ready to finish.

Here they are with 3 coats of oil/varnish/solvent brew.  I chose Watco but modified it slightly by reinforcing the brew with some added Pure tung oil and varnish, because I think Watco skimps on these ingredients.

More pictures to follow as I begin the speakers!

« Last Edit: 30 Dec 2007, 01:21 am by EProvenzano »

John151

Re: RMD in Bees Wing Claro Walnut
« Reply #1 on: 30 Dec 2007, 07:02 pm »
Looks like a great start!   :thumb:

Can't wait to see the final product! 

EProvenzano

« Reply #2 on: 1 Jan 2008, 08:00 pm »
I have a great appreciation for those craftsmen out there who make museum quality cabinetry.  I just got through 4 hours of delicate sanding to make my seams as invisible and free from glue residue as possible.  Whew what a job!  I hope I can keep my ambition up, so as not to short cut the speakers.  I tend to lose interest in long term projects after the thought process and learning curve is over.  I'd much rather delegate the rest of the job  :lol:.

So far so good, and I'm very pleased with the results.  The Bees Wing figure is stunning.  As usual, the photos don't do it justice.  I might just spray on a couple coats of satin laquer to hold the look, long term....but then give up the maintainability of oil...decisions, decisions.

Thanks.  :thumb:
« Last Edit: 1 Jan 2008, 10:48 pm by EProvenzano »

JoshK

« Reply #3 on: 1 Jan 2008, 08:11 pm »