Kudos to GR Research

sb6

Kudos to GR Research
« on: 6 Jun 2015, 04:21 pm »
Just wanted to send a thanks to Danny for being so easy to work with and providing all new internals for my BE20Ds. At 500 hours the difference is stunning via improved low freq. detail and tightness and midrange and high end clarity and detail. One unexpected benefit was the expanded vertical sound stage. Pre-upgrade vocals, instruments, etc. ranged from ~4' - 6' which now ranges from ~2' - 9'. Thanks again, keep up the awesome work!!

BTW - I may be coming back for the DIY dipole woofers, I understand they are outstanding...

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Re: Kudos to GR Research
« Reply #1 on: 6 Jun 2015, 06:00 pm »
Nice looking X-overs. I've heard very nice things about Danny's crossover upgrades.

This is my first time looking inside an Usher cabinet. Are the front baffles MDF or another (Birch ply, solid, etc.)?

Michael

Danny Richie

« Reply #2 on: 7 Jun 2015, 04:33 am »
Your're welcome. I am glad to help.

sb6

« Reply #3 on: 20 Nov 2015, 09:16 pm »
Just noticed your question months later, sorry. The front baffles are mdf but are very thick (~3"). The outside wood is Walnut I believe, 1 solid piece, no veneer. They weigh 300lbs each.

nickd

« Reply #4 on: 21 Nov 2015, 04:29 pm »
Welcome to AC :thumb:

sb6

« Reply #5 on: 30 Dec 2015, 10:48 pm »
Thanks for the welcome. Long time lurker, recent poster..  :)

mresseguie

« Reply #6 on: 30 Dec 2015, 11:31 pm »
Hi, sb6.

Thanks for replying. I finally got to see some of the higher end Usher speakers at a show two weeks ago. The photographs don't do them justice. One must see how massive they are in person to fully appreciate them.

Michael
« Last Edit: 4 Jan 2016, 11:06 pm by mresseguie »

Danny Richie

« Reply #7 on: 31 Dec 2015, 12:41 am »
Hey Micheal,