Something strange happening with Scott 222

steinwayjoe

Something strange happening with Scott 222
« on: 2 Sep 2017, 05:28 pm »
Hello, I'm not technically savvy, but will try to explain all this.

Here is my system:
I have a Scott 222 integrated (not an A, the very first 222. 2006 it was refurbished by Hotglass Audio - works/sounds great)
Schitt Bifrost DAC
Omega Super 3Rs - recently upgraded to his new RS5 drivers - about 50 hours on them
MacBook pro with my CD library as lossless, also using Audirvana

Okay we moved to a new house (all new electric) a few months ago and what seems to be happening is the volume level is... off. At less than a half quarter turn it is now as loud as what it used to be at half or maybe even more. In fact it is quite loud at what might be "2" or "3" on the volume level knob. Everything sounds fine.

I am not quite stupid enough to have had the iTunes or Audirvana volume levels be the culprit here (meaning I had these set low before). Can anything explain this? Anything I can check? Could the new drivers be this much more... efficient" I bought them right before we moved, so I can't remember if this volume thing changed then, but I don't think so. Then again...

Sorry if this is a dumb post. I am just kind of stumped here. Any ideas appreciated.

SteveFord

• Facilitator
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.
Re: Something strange happening with Scott 222
« Reply #1 on: 2 Sep 2017, 11:42 pm »
Are you listening to Spinal Tap?

Seriously, probably the drivers.

markie

« Reply #2 on: 3 Sep 2017, 03:24 am »
I'm guessing the drivers in part, and I'm also guessing that the audio room in your new house is smaller..

Elizabeth

• So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
« Reply #3 on: 3 Sep 2017, 02:17 pm »
I would say yes, the difference in the drivers could easily be the factor.
Unlikely to be the electronics or AC power.
The room size plus the drivers easily can give make it that much more apparent louder.