Super Alnico Monitor - budget amp recommendation

wowyahoo

Super Alnico Monitor - budget amp recommendation
« on: 26 Dec 2017, 06:09 pm »
Hello everyone,

Through research looking for lush mids, something sounding similar to the LCD-3, I came across Omega speakers. I have a pair of Ascend Sierra-2 ribbon speakers, but the mids aren't as lush as I like. With that being said, I am looking for an amp under $500 that will match well with the SAMs. No DIY kits.

Thank you.

rghanbari

Re: Super Alnico Monitor - budget amp recommendation
« Reply #1 on: 26 Dec 2017, 07:52 pm »
I'm new to this high efficiency speaker world, but the Bantam Gold is absolutely lovely with the SAMs.  I'm eager to hear other recommendations on this thread.  Me and my friends are driving the SAMs and CAMs direct from our DACs (Chord DAVE and Hugo2), but there are times when the music really demands a beefy amp behind the Omegas, but one that doesn't get in way of the remarkable dynamics and transparency that the Chord DACs and Omegas are capable of.

nature boy

« Reply #2 on: 26 Dec 2017, 08:05 pm »
I understand that Steve Deckert (Decware) is currently developing a 25th Anniversary Zen amp.  This will be his attempt at the ultimate 2-watt SET amplifier.  I plan to order one to use with my Omega SAHO XRS speakers.  More info is available on the Decware forum "new developments" section.  The amps will include top notch VCAP Teflon capacitors.

Louis's Omega speakes's have  great synergy with Decware amps.  Not sure of the pricing and availability yet, Steve has been working on this new amp for over a month to get the voicing perfect.  The VCAP's take a while to settle in.

If it were me, I'd save up your shillings and buy one of these very special amplifiers.  They are sure to become a treasured item.

NB

Vlad

« Reply #3 on: 26 Dec 2017, 08:17 pm »