Magnepan Fuses for 3.7s

zuluwarrior0760

Magnepan Fuses for 3.7s
« on: 30 Mar 2014, 03:02 am »
bought some hifi tuning fuses and they say to place the top of the triangle
logo in the direction of the signal (even though it's AC, LOL)

I am assuming that the bottom of the fuse holder represents where power enters
and the top is where it exits.....

Can anyone confirm this?

Thanks

Davey

Re: Magnepan Fuses for 3.7s
« Reply #1 on: 30 Mar 2014, 01:34 pm »
:)  Once you go down the rabbit hole............

Try them both ways and see which way sounds better.

Dave.

SteveFord

• Facilitator
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.
« Reply #2 on: 30 Mar 2014, 02:42 pm »
I have to ask: do they give any reason for mounting a fuse in one direction or another?

Goosepond

• Virna!
« Reply #3 on: 30 Mar 2014, 02:48 pm »
I've had some experience with this, and believe me it works. When putting in the fuse make sure you're standing on one foot (the left is better than the right for me but that's probably because I'm left-handed) and cough once. Try it!  :thumb:

Gene

zuluwarrior0760

« Reply #4 on: 30 Mar 2014, 09:37 pm »
clever remarks but no answer to the question (which way does the current go in a magnepan 3.7 fuseblock)....

What possible benefit would there be for the manufacturer to say his fuses are directional if it's unmeasurable snakeoil   (he's already sold em).......

I tried them both ways and one sounds subtly more open but the difference isn't profound....., I just wanted to know if
anyone knew the direction so I could see if my ears were telling me opposite of actual best practice or no......

Here's more:
http://www.psaudio.com/vanilla/discussion/2619/the-fuse-direction-conspirathy-theory/p1

Davey

« Reply #5 on: 30 Mar 2014, 11:02 pm »
You answered your own question in your first post.  This is AC....the current goes both directions.