Speaker Outriggers by Soundocity

TheChairGuy

Speaker Outriggers by Soundocity
« on: 18 Sep 2010, 03:29 pm »
I'll spoil the surprise early - these are terrific add-on's - particularly for thin, tippy floorstanders on carpeted surfaces :thumb:

www.soundocity.com

My complete thoughts coming...but, I was excited enough by the improvements in the first 30 minutes to post this topic as I don't remember :dunno: seeing a review on these all the years here at AC (or near anywhere else), yet stabilization of speakers is a profoundly important thing to get right for maximum fidelity.

John

mfsoa

Re: Speaker Outriggers by Soundocity
« Reply #1 on: 18 Sep 2010, 03:40 pm »
I've been using them on my Von Schweikert VR4JRs for a few months now. No doubt lateral stability has improved greatly, yet at the  same time the fore and aft stability must be compromised a bit - replacing the spikes directly into the carpeted floor w. the outrigger bars has to add just a bit of flex that wasn't there before. Also, on my speakers, the studs in the speaker protrude a tiny bit from the base, so the bar doesn't actually touch the speaker, so I may not be getting the most from the outriggers..

So, in my app, I like the enhanced lateral stability yet wonder if I'm maybe losing that last bit of SQ.  (Or maybe the SQ has gone up w/ the outriggers, maybe offering a bit of isolation from the floor, and I won't find this out till I go back to the original spikes).

Definitely a great product that does it's job well.

-Mike

kgturner

« Reply #2 on: 18 Sep 2010, 03:51 pm »
I had a pair of custom X-wing plinths made for my dB99's and they are awesome! A little pricier than the Soundocity offerings, but what custom job isn't? I not sure if Soundocity does custom work anymore. I bought my plinths from Oregon DV, but I think they are affiliated with Soundocity.

Kevin T

TheChairGuy

« Reply #3 on: 18 Sep 2010, 05:28 pm »