VMPS SuperTower/R Question

baco99

VMPS SuperTower/R Question
« on: 2 Jun 2016, 09:17 pm »
Hello!  This is only my second post and I am happy to have found this site.  I've been working on speakers for over 25 years as a hobbyist. 

I'm working on a "light restoration" of a pair of VMPS SuperTower/R speakers that a friend of mine picked up.  They need 6 new foams, which is no big deal.  One of the bottom-mounted PRs also needs a new rope caulk mass added to it.  The prior rope caulk install seems to have peeled off and been lost.  All of the other drivers seem in tact and operational. 

I have 3 questions, however.

1) When I looked in the box, the sides are coated with the optional VMPS white ceramic "Soundcoat" material.  There's very little internal bracing which is shocking for a speaker this size, and there's no polyfill, fiberglass, or Roxul insulation in the cabinet at all. 
    a) Does the Soundcoat need to be reapplied at all, or is it a material that holds its value forever?
    b) Has anyone added bracing to the inside of the cabinet to stiffen it?  If so, where?  If not, why not?
    c) Is there any reason not to line the cabinet with polyfill or fiberglass as additional acoustic damping?

2) Has anyone experimented with using a different added-mass method than rope caulk and hot glue for the bottom PRs? This seems like a rather clumsy solution to me.  I was thinking of doing what Snell did for the Type A and adding some kind of epoxy to the cone, or gluing a more solid mass made from wood or plastic.  Any thoughts here?

3) The super tweeters on these were apparently upgraded by the owner of VMPS before his passing.  They are ribbons but they look different from ones I have seen online.  Does anyone have any info on the upgrade paths that were provided well after these speakers went out of production. The tweeters are Morel MDT28 with a rear chamber and ferrofluid.  Are these the upgraded tweeters?  Were the MDT29 the standard?