SCA-35 pot noise problem

randroid42

SCA-35 pot noise problem
« on: 27 Aug 2010, 05:31 am »
Hi folks,

I'm working on a factory-wired SCA-35 that I've been hauling around without use for more than 15 years.  After a careful power-up with the variac and re-heating a few cold solder joints, it is sounding pretty good through my old Wharfedale W60-E speakers.

HOWEVER, when I touch Balance, Bass or Treble knobs, I often hear a loud hum, and when I move these controls there are loud transients.  Wallering the shafts a bit, or grounding the shafts with a jumper actually addresses the problem, but this is not a practical fix.

Although my circuit theory is pretty weak, I can't see how a component or wiring problem could give me this behavior in all three pots.  The volume control pot does not behave this way.

I guess the shafts are just not always making good electrical contact with the sleeves they pass through, but I don't see why the shaft of the pot should be part of a circuit anyway.  After poking around the network for a few days I've found only one report of a similar problem, and without a solution.

So:  is this a known issue with this amp, or something off the wall?  Am I right in thinking I just have to replace these pots or maybe find a way to lubricate the shafts with something conductive (which sounds dangerous)?

Thanks a bunch.

Randy

Bill Thomas

Re: SCA-35 pot noise problem
« Reply #1 on: 29 Aug 2010, 06:37 am »
Hi, Randy!

I hope this will help you with your problem potentiometers.  It sounds like these are exhibiting the symptoms of "dirty pots."  If this were *my* SCA-35, I would remove the potentiometers from the amplifier and do a thorough cleaning regimen on them.  IF YOU ARE CAREFUL, you can clean them "in-place," but be prepared to clean up a mess.