Perpetuum Ebner PE 3012

Mitsuman

• Diamond Tone Junkie
Perpetuum Ebner PE 3012
« on: 16 Dec 2011, 12:30 pm »
I'm attempting to refurbish one for a co-worker. I know VE has a service manual for it, but I was wondering if anyone here has any suggestions on the re-build and possible cartridge matches for this arm. It has a crusty old ADC XLM on it now that's totally shot.

Thanks,

Craig

Mitsuman

• Diamond Tone Junkie
Re: Perpetuum Ebner PE 3012
« Reply #1 on: 19 Dec 2011, 09:53 pm »
:bump:

Perhaps this would have been better asked in the Vintage Circle?  :scratch:

orthobiz

« Reply #2 on: 20 Dec 2011, 12:05 am »
This is the right place to ask. I'm not good at the rebuild thing. And even though I wouldn't know what to say (necessarily), I love looking at pics! Is this an idler wheel? Does the thing spin? etc. etc.
Plus, there may be the PE guy just like Bill Neumann does Duals and Dave Archambault does Thorens/AR...

Paul

neobop

• BIRD LIVES
« Reply #3 on: 20 Dec 2011, 11:58 am »
Hi Mitsu,
I don't have a clue about this table. From the picture, the arm looks a little scary, but it could be OK. Like I said.....

You can get the idler wheel refurbished here:
http://www.turntablebasics.com/idlerwheels.html

Do the automatic functions work? You should be able to check that even w/o a functioning cart. See if it cycles. For auto return you might have to hold the arm over where the record would be, for a couple of minutes. Often there's a capacitor that has to charge up. The service manual will have these details. I think you and your friend need to evaluate what it needs and whether it's worth it. TT basics used to sell just the rubbers for the wheels. They were $10 - 15. Maybe you can find another source and maybe you could get some advise from Lenco forum or similar. If the table needs extensive refurbishing it might not be worth doing. Without knowing how good these can be, it's a little difficult giving advise. I suspect that's the reason for few responses.
neo