Size of speaker for room

Sound

Size of speaker for room
« on: 27 Jan 2005, 02:15 am »
Question-- Is there a way to determine what size speaker would best fit a room?  My room is 15 x 17 x 8 in a carpeted basement.  Sound of room is neutral.

Thanks

markC

Size of speaker for room
« Reply #1 on: 27 Jan 2005, 10:26 pm »
Many variables here. What are you driving them with, what levels do you listen at, do you have the space for full range floor standers, will you be using a sub...etc...

Sound

More info
« Reply #2 on: 28 Jan 2005, 01:59 am »
Yes yes, obviously I am new at this.  Ok here are more details:

What are you driving them with, ---  Don't have anything yet. I am starting from scratch.  Most likely odyssey stratos mono's.

what levels do you listen at,---  Medum sound. Probably low at night due to family upstairs. But really want a great soundstage, good detail and balance.  Hate top heavy or bottom heavy music.  I listen to jazz, classical, piano, wide variety of band, U2, John Mayer, REM but no hard rock no rap etc.  

do you have the space for full range floor standers, -- well, that's kind of what I am asking advice on .  Room is 15x 17 x8  It is a dedicated sound/movie room so as far as furniture positioning goes, yes I would easily have room.

will you be using a sub...etc...-- don't know, depends on if I get a two way or three way speaker with bass.  I would imagine yes if it is a two way.  I would use the sub for movies.  If the speaker is three way, most likely not.  Hence I would be willing to take the $ I would spend for a sub and add it to the speaker price.  Looking at around 3K for speakers.

I don't have a sound source yet either.  I really am begining from ground up begining with the room.  What I am hoping to do is not make multiple perchases to find the "right fit and sound" for the system.

Carlman

Size of speaker for room
« Reply #3 on: 28 Jan 2005, 02:19 am »