Another pc non-believer hits the dust

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
Another pc non-believer hits the dust
« on: 4 Sep 2009, 05:54 am »
Jeez I just love it when you tell an engineer how much difference a power cable can make in the sound of a source in you system. Invariably they give you that look that says " I'm an engineer, and I know that that's BS. Obviously the last 5 feet of wire that carries current.... blah, blah, blah :nono:" Then you set them down and make them listen.  Next come the questions  :scratch:.  Did you change the volume? Are you sure that the only thing you changed was the power cable?  Then the denial  :o.  "That can't be." "It isn't possible".  And finally the acceptance..  :oops: :o
"I'm stunned", "I wound never have believed it"  etc.   

After the wives went to bed, I put a set of regular power cords on my Cambridge cdp, listened to several bits, and replace it with the Electra Cable 6 wire braid cable.  My engineer buddy was floored.  No arguements from him about placebo effect, just acceptance that the Electra made a difference in clarity and reality. 

nonoise

• A republic, if you can keep it.
Re: Another pc non-believer hits the dust
« Reply #1 on: 28 Sep 2009, 04:38 am »
My friend, who brags "who has the degree here?" claims he doesn't hear a difference but I know he does. Then he claims that his hearing was damaged during the military and then goes on about his time as a camera man and his editing experience (which is all true) and requires a keen ear but it all boils down to an indifference on his part to all things musical. He loves his I-pod based car system and there's no convincing him of the difference.
Yet every time I change a cable there is that difference that is so easy to hear.
Go figure. 

mfsoa

« Reply #2 on: 28 Sep 2009, 02:59 pm »
I did the same thing to the engineer who actually built the amp we were listening to, with the same response -