suggestions for general chef knife

gregcss

suggestions for general chef knife
« on: 11 May 2014, 07:27 pm »
Hi,
I've been using a calphalon knife set I got for $200 for the last 10-11 years and I think it's time to upgrade. I do not want a set and would like to get a single quality ~8" all purpose chef knife. Budget is $200. What do you recommend?

Also, I have a round dowel 'diamond' sharpener that came with the set mentioned above and a henckels sharpener. I think the henckels does a pos job and the calphalon does a decent job at honing the edge. What do you recommend for an actual sharpener?

Thanks
-Greg
« Last Edit: 11 May 2014, 09:45 pm by gregcss »

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Re: suggestions for 'all purpose' chef knife
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2014, 08:23 pm »
Greg,

We have Henckel and Cutco knives that we've used for years. Either brand tends to be a bit spendy. They're nice to use and I like them, but, honestly, my favorite knife is is a Molybdenum/vanadium stainless steel blade I picked up for $16.95 several years ago at Ikea. It's an 8" Japanese style blade--I've forgotten the correct name for it.
Sure, it needs sharpening more often than my other blades, but it kicks ass on veggies, meats, etc.

Michael

My Ikea knife is a Santoku blade.

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #2 on: 11 May 2014, 08:42 pm »
The Calaphons are actually decent knives compared to their European brothers, but none of them can take an edge like the Japanese knives.  See http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=50423.0

srb

« Reply #3 on: 11 May 2014, 08:56 pm »
I find the Japanese blades to be a bit thin and fragile, so it depends on how 'all-purpose' you want the blade to be.  For German knives I prefer the Wusthof, and in particular the Grand Prix II handles.  Although the Classic riveted handles look nice, the more ergonomic Grand Prix handles just feel better and fit my hand better.