My new 4b3

Dloines

My new 4b3
« on: 14 Dec 2016, 08:36 pm »
So after much back and forth and finding and reading as many write-ups and articles I could find, I gave in and bought a 4b3.  My system is mostly Bryston products, BHA1, BDA-2, BP25, and 4b3 (replacing my 4bsst2), Magnepan 3.7i, and a Marantz CD player.  Very happy with the sound quality prior to the 4b3,  the 4bsst2 really drives the 3.7i's :D  The 4b3 arrived 1 day earlier this Monday than FEDEX tracking noted, lucky someone was home to sign for it.

Setup was straight forward using XLR and spade connects, weight is about the same (heavy sucker :thumb:), black 17 inch from a distance looks the same as the sst2.  Green LED is standard (though you can change to blue) and will probably leave it that way, when all the units are on I have about 9 little green LEDS glowing, sort of cool looking at night with lights off 8)

I'm no equipment expert so I try to read as much as I can on topics as in break-in of components.  But to be honest other than some headphones i never really noticed a measurable difference in sound other than my ears getting use to the sound.  So i started listening right away for about 4 hours the first day and plan to run it everyday for about 4-5 hours for the first week, and then come back in a day or so and listen some more.

Here are my observations so far:

1.   Not a night and day difference more of the same qualities from the sst to sst2
2.   More forward images 3d affect instruments come towards you especially brass instruments
3.   More string reverb on acoustic bass
4.   More Bass (more than expected)
5.   Vocal voices especially female are really life like breathing inhaling
6.   Cymbals and bells shimmer a bit more