This is frustrating.

corndog71

• Some people call me Rob.
This is frustrating.
« on: 17 May 2013, 06:19 pm »
Bear with me here.  In the last several years I graduated from being able to replace a simple driver circuit board of a dynaco st70 to building an st35 amp using the classic output stage, a modified version of one guy's driver circuit, and a relatively new bias arrangement without using the classic layout and basically doing it all point to point.

It's still a bit of a work in progress but it sounds fantastic.  I still have this humming power transformer problem which I'm sure is related to the dirty power lines in my apartment building. 

I've read just about every post in this forum with the hopes of learning from Roger.  While I did learn a bunch I still have a ways to go. (I have no college or formal engineering training.)  I even ordered an old RCA Tube Manual with the hopes of learning the basics of tube amp design.  I should be getting an oscilloscope sometime soon as well.

Roger is very inspiring in that he pushes limits in his designs but always with efficiency and reliability in mind.  What I find a bit astounding is that he doesn't seem to have any real competition.  According to Roger many of the big tube "designers" are essentially doing things by the books and not really doing anything new.  They aren't really trying to make their amps more efficient or push the limits in available power.  It's just the same old same old with the latest popular tube.   What's worse is that the packaging ends up being the most expensive part.  And the prices of these things are just nuts!  I went to Axpona here in Chicago and saw amps for $20-60K.  Greed and insanity running rampant if you ask me.