McCoy Tyner

Mike-48

McCoy Tyner
« on: 19 Oct 2016, 10:05 am »
We went to hear McCoy Tyner last night at Revolution Hall in Portland (Oregon). The 850-seat hall was full, with a few attendees (I imagine PDXJazz volunteers) standing along the walls. Tyner received a standing ovation when he entered the stage and another one when he left.

The great pianist, at 77 years old, played beautifully but not long. Including a couple of numbers by his group without him, the concert was 90 minutes.

I've been listening to McCoy Tyner's music on recordings since his early 1960s work with Coltrane, and I've always thought him one of the most vital and interesting jazz pianists. He's still a wonderful player; however, he looked and sounded (when he spoke) more frail than I had expected. This was a moving reminder that both he and I are getting old. I am grateful to have been able to attend.

Gerald Cannon, bass; Joe Farnsworth (drums); Sherman Irby (alto sax).

richidoo

Re: McCoy Tyner
« Reply #1 on: 19 Oct 2016, 03:11 pm »
Cool!!  8)  Thanks for the mini review. Good to know he's still kickin.

charmerci

« Reply #2 on: 19 Oct 2016, 04:35 pm »

I've been listening to McCoy Tyner's music on recordings since his early 1960s work with Coltrane, and I've always thought him one of the most vital and interesting jazz pianists. He's still a wonderful player; however, he looked and sounded (when he spoke) more frail than I had expected. This was a moving reminder that both he and I are getting old. I am grateful to have been able to attend.

When I heard Brubeck in the early 00's, he had trouble walking/shuffling, his voice was weak but when he played the piano, it was incredible.

ketcham

• Industry Participant
« Reply #3 on: 19 Oct 2016, 05:08 pm »
I too was at this show.  The bass beat is still in my head.  Gerald Cannon (they all were) spectacular.

I agree, he is much more frail since I last saw him.  Much wisdom there and he commands respect.

pdxjazz is a wonderful foundation.