External Crossovers

jlewis3323

External Crossovers
« on: 24 Feb 2024, 07:34 pm »
I have acquired a pair of FF 1 VPMS speakers that appear to have had external crossovers. My speakers have two XLR male pin connectors in the back and two speaker binding post (negative and positive). When hooked up only the woofers play…my guess is these
XLR connectors were used to connect the external crossover boxes to the speakers. Currently I have no sound from mids or tweeters. In looking inside the speakers I find no crossovers. I have little to no knowledge on how to make my own crossovers. Any help or assistance is appreciated. I am located in Nokomis, FL near Sarasota.

Thanks-
John

GeorgeAb

Re: External Crossovers
« Reply #1 on: 26 Feb 2024, 12:11 am »
Hi John,

Congrats on the FF 1's. Do they look like this: https://www.usaudiomart.com/details/649687886-vmps-ff-1-speakers/ I temper the congrats with a bit of a headache figuring out the extrenal crossover.

Not sure how Brian had the crossover points set for the FF 1s. What frequencies and slopes of the low pass, bandpass for the mids, and highpass are. He pretty much stuck to the same formula for his crossovers. I provided the crossover schematics for the ribbon monitor line of speakers: RM-30, RM-40, and RM-60 here:  https://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=186345.0