I'm just curious

Terry

I'm just curious
« on: 26 May 2005, 03:15 am »
Okay, if you are a visitor to this site it is safe to assume that you at least like the DeCapos. I have been using my DeCapo-i for almost two years and I am still amazed at how good they are. Not perfect, of course, but much better than they have a right to be given their relatively low cost. I will never sell my DeCapos. But lately I have been wondering what the next step up would be. If I had double the money, say - $6K, to spend on new speakers what should I look for. A couple that have come to my mind would include the following:

Merlin VSM
Quad 988
Focus Audio 788
Dynaudio (?)
Coincident Speaker Technology Super Eclipse
etc. etc.

The trouble is that, with the exception of the Super Eclipse, I have not heard any of these speakers in rooms/systems that I am familiar with. The Supers are great but, you know, I don't think they are worth double the price of the DeCapos.

So here is my question: If you were looking for your next and perhaps last pair of speakers and you wanted these speakers to be substantially better than the DeCapos and remain under $6,000 (new or used, does'nt matter), what would you go for?

Please provide you thoughts on this. In my opinion, it will not be easy to substantially best the DeCapo with the constraints I have listed.

Cheers,

Terry

mcrespo71

I'm just curious
« Reply #1 on: 26 May 2005, 03:44 am »
What sonic characteristics do you like most?

All those listed are very good and I assume you are talking about the Dynaudio Special 25, right?  

My personal preference would be a used Quad 988 with a sub, but I already know the SPL limitations of the Quads and could live with them, especially if I had a MMDCI as a backup.  Many cannot live with them, however.

Michael

panderso

I'm just curious
« Reply #2 on: 26 May 2005, 02:00 pm »