Need a road bike for outdoor exercise, any suggestions?

timind

• permanent vacation
I recently started riding my bike for exercise after injuring my achilles playing tennis. The bike I've had for years is an old cheapo mountain type bike which rides fairly well, all thing considered. I'm thinking though, if I'm going to continue this, I should get a road bike.

Back in the 70s-80s I had a Schwinn Varsity which I loved. It was a 25 inch frame with 27 inch tires and fit my 6'2" frame well. I road this thing all over and took it to Crete when I was stationed there in 83-86. Unfortunately, it did not survive the return trip.

Should I look for something similar on Craig's list or look for a more contemporary frame? There is a fellow on local Craig's list who has quite a few bikes of that vintage which he advertises as refurbs with prices around $200.

I.Greyhound Fan

Re: Need a road bike for outdoor exercise, any suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: 1 Aug 2016, 03:06 pm »
Look for a more contemporary bike.  The new indexed shifting is awesome.  If you buy new you will be able to have the bike fit to you.  Although it you like the frame geometry of an old school bike, Surly Bikes will fit the bill-

http://surlybikes.com/bikes

timind

• permanent vacation
« Reply #2 on: 1 Aug 2016, 03:47 pm »
Guess I should specify price. I'm not looking to spend a lot (<$400) as this may be temporary. If my ankle heals properly I'll be out on the tennis courts again. Although, riding on Indiana back roads seems a lot safer than I expected; very little traffic out there.

SoCalWJS

« Reply #3 on: 1 Aug 2016, 04:07 pm »
I just bought a "Hybrid" a couple of weeks ago. Trek FX 7.2. Happy with it so far.