Technics SL-1200G arrived

jsm71

Technics SL-1200G arrived
« on: 26 Jan 2018, 03:43 pm »
I haven't seen a lot of user feedback on this after the initial threads following Technics' announcements created buzz.  Thought I'd throw my 2 cents in the ring.

I have been using a Marantz TT-15S1 table for about 5 years.  It cost $1,500 new and I believe that is still the price.  I'd classify The Marantz as a good budget table, better than entry level.  I upgraded the supplied ClearAudio Virtuoso MM cart to a Lyra Delos, then recently to an Audio Technica ART9, both MC carts.  The table allowed these cartridges to show their merit but I knew a better table would bring out more.

I won't blather on about the merits of the new Technics table.  There are plenty of professional reviews that point all that out.  I will say if you are like me, ready for a step up from $1,500-2,000 tables, I can't see how $4k can buy you more.  You might find something different at this price, and tastes differ, but the build quality and sound at this price is noteworthy.  Its doing everything I expected and hoped for.  This will be my last table and I wanted reliability and ease of use.  I retire in July.

Shown with a LP Gear Zupreme head shell and the ART9 cart mounted --> Bob's Devices SKY 20 SUT --> Custom Don Sachs phono stage --> Linear Tube Audio MZ2 preamp --> Linear Tube Audio ZOTL40 amp --> JansZen zA2.1 hybrid ESL speakers   Cerious Technologies and Morrow cables.

Samac

Re: Technics SL-1200G arrived
« Reply #1 on: 26 Jan 2018, 04:07 pm »
jsm71,

That is one sweet 'table. :o Congratulations, enjoy! :thumb:

Cheers,

Scott

Syrah

« Reply #2 on: 26 Jan 2018, 06:48 pm »
I've been lusting after one.  But that would be my 5th table.  I can't justify that.  Well, maybe I just haven't thought hard enough yet...

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.